Economic DevelopmentWilliamson County News

Source: Williamson Herald
Author: Kerri Bartlett, Managing Editor


On Monday, longtime Williamson County Mayor Rogers Anderson filed his petition to run for re-election after pulling the petition Friday.

Anderson draws opposition from James Kenneth Eaton of Franklin, who also pulled a petition to run for mayor last week.

The seat of county mayor and all 24 seats among 12 districts on the Williamson County Commission are up for re-election in the County Primary in May.

Just Monday morning, incumbent county commissioners Paul Webb, 6th District, and David Landrum, 10th District, pulled petitions to reclaim their seats.

Friday marked the first day petitions were issued in the Williamson County Republican and Democratic Primaries May 1, which includes opposition for Williamson County Board of Commissioners (county commission) 4th, 8th and 9th District seats, in addition to opposition for county mayor.

The candidate qualifying deadline is Thursday, Feb. 15, 2018 at noon.

Petitions issued Friday are as follows:

James Kenneth Eaton of Franklin intends to challenge long-time incumbent Williamson County Mayor Rogers Anderson, who also pulled a petition Friday. Both are running as Republicans.

In the County Republican Primary, Chad Story of Franklin pulled a petition for one of the open 4th District county commission seats, while Melissa Miles of Franklin pulled a petition in the 8th District and Robert Peterman of Franklin pulled a petition in the 9th District for one of the seats up for grabs.

Incumbent Gregg Lawrence also pulled a petition in the 4th District to reclaim his seat. Incumbent Kathy Danner also represents the 4th District, but has not yet pulled a petition. Both are Republicans.

Jack Walton and Barbara Sturgeon currently represent the 8th District, while Sherri Clark and Todd Kaestner represent the 9th District.

Two county commissioners are elected to represent each of Williamson County’s 12 districts with 24 county commissioners in all, representing the county.

County commission incumbents, also pulling a petition Friday for re-election, include Dwight “Bubba” Jones and Ricky Jones, 1st District; Judy Lynch Herbert and Betsy Hester, 2nd District; Jennifer Mason, 3rd District; David Landrum, 10th District; Brian Beathard, 11th District; and Dana Ausbrooks and Steve Smith, 12th District. All are running as Republicans.

All offices on the General Election ballot include County Mayor; County Commission (12 Districts with two members per district); Trustee; Sheriff; Circuit Court Clerk; Juvenile Court Clerk; County Clerk; and Register of Deeds.